

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE FOR INFORMATION, CONTACT: EEI – JEREMY ORTIZ, (202) 508-5301 IBEW – MATT SPENCE, (202) 728-6014

Representatives Donald Norcross, Linda Sánchez, and Brian Fitzpatrick Receive John D. Dingell Award

WASHINGTON (March 4, 2025) – U.S. Representative Debbie Dingell (D-MI) today presented the John D. Dingell Award to U.S. Representatives Donald Norcross (D-NJ), Linda Sánchez (D-CA), and Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA) in recognition of their bipartisan work to recognize July 10 as Journeyman Lineworkers Recognition Day.

Each year, the representatives introduce and lead a bipartisan resolution to honor the life and work of Henry Miller, the first International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) president, and our nation's more than 100,000 electrical lineworkers. These dedicated lineworkers often work around the clock and in dangerous conditions following hurricanes, wildfires, tornadoes, winter storms, and other extreme weather events to ensure that the customers and the communities they serve have access to safe and reliable electricity.

"Lineworkers play a critical role in powering our nation's economy and our lives. Their work helps to ensure that customers and communities around the country have the safe, reliable, affordable, and resilient clean energy they need, when and where they need it," said Edison Electric Institute (EEI) interim President and CEO Pat Vincent-Collawn. "We are proud to recognize Representatives Donald Norcross, Linda Sánchez, and Brian Fitzpatrick for their leadership and bipartisan efforts to honor lineworkers across the country."

"Every day, America's lineworkers give their all to ensure that our nation enjoys reliable and secure power, 24 hours a day, seven days a week," said IBEW International President Kenneth W. Cooper. "We all owe them a debt of gratitude for everything they do, and I thank Reps. Norcross, Sánchez, and Fitzpatrick for leading the way in recognizing lineworkers for their invaluable contributions to our country."

In 2008, EEI and the IBEW came together to create the National Labor and Management Public Affairs Committee (National LAMPAC). National LAMPAC strives to foster collaboration and partnership among electric company executives and IBEW leaders to address the nation's energy challenges and to achieve the common goals of running a well-managed, efficient business with a safe and highly skilled workforce.

Named for one of the longest-serving members of Congress, the John D. Dingell Award is presented to leaders who exemplify and promote labor-management cooperation and whose efforts have helped to advance the common objectives of the electric power industry and IBEW members.

Mr. Dingell served as Chairman of the House Energy and Commerce Committee for many years and amassed an impressive record of bipartisan accomplishments on a wide range of issues, many of which focused on labor-management collaboration.

###

The International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) represents approximately 838,000 members and retirees who work in a wide variety of fields, including construction, utilities, manufacturing, telecommunications, broadcasting, railroads, and government.

The Edison Electric Institute (EEI) is the association that represents all U.S. investor-owned electric companies. EEI members provide electricity for nearly 250 million Americans, and operate in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. The electric power industry supports more than 7 million jobs in communities across the United States. In addition to its U.S. members, EEI has more than 70 international electric companies, with operations in more than 90 countries, as International Members, and hundreds of industry suppliers and related organizations as Associate Members.